Thursday, November 5, 2009

Lyn Bliss Elected VP of Southwest Ohio FRW

Lyn Bliss Elected VP of SW Ohio FRW
The Ohio Federation of Republican Women held their annual fall conference recently and officers for 2010 and 2011 were elected. Darke County Republican Women's Club member, Lyn Bliss, was elected Vice President of the Southwest District which includes Republican Women’s Clubs in Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Greene, Hamilton, Logan, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Shelby, Warren and Darke counties.

Bliss has served in a number of roles at the Darke County Republican Women's Club, including corresponding secretary, recording secretary, card party committee member, nominating committee member, picnic committee member, publicity chairlady, membership book editor, and representative to the OFRW and representative to the National Federation of Republican Women. She is also a member of the Ohio Republican Party and Republican National Committee.

She has also served on a number of non-political boards. Bliss is a League of Women Voters Board of Directors member, Junior Vice President of VFW Auxiliary 7262, Board Member and Secretary of the Darke County Metropolitan Housing Authority and webmaster for the Darke County Republican Party as well as a member of the Eagle’s Auxiliary, Women of the Moose, Beta Sigma Phi Sorority, Greenville Area Women’s Connection, Core Committee for the Greenville Schools Levy, Darke County Historical Society (Garst Museum), Friends of the Greenville Library, Committee to Restore the Greenville Mausoleum, Citizens Against Carbon Sequestration, Senior Advocate Scholarship Fund, Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority Alumni, University of Iowa Alumni, University of Maryland Alumni, Wright Patterson Club and the Dayton Art Institute. She has served as a member on the following boards: Edison Community College Board of Trustees, the Darke County Republican Central and Executive Committees, Board of Directors for the Cancer Association of Darke County and was also the Political Education chair for the Ohio Federation of Republican Women.

Bliss is a former schoolteacher and a graduate of the University of Maryland and the University of Iowa. She and her husband, Al, make their home in Greenville.

Other officers elected include: President Jean Turner of Gibsonburg, Vice President Carol Salmon of Canfield, Treasurer Karen McTague of Oak Harbor, and Secretary Pet Rettig of Clyde. In addition to Bliss, the six district Vice Presidents are: Kathy Wise of Newark for Central District, Jewette Toney of Wintersville for East District, Donna Thatcher of Freemont for Northwest District, Edwina Wolcott of Warren for Northeast District, and Shawn Priest of Leesburg for South District.

No comments:

Post a Comment